Nonfiction Short Take: Printer’s Error – Rebecca Romney and J.P. Romney

Romney is a rare book dealer who appears on The History Channel’s Pawn Stars. This compendium of fact and anecdote should appeal to fans of Sarah Vowell and John Hodgman.

The book will be featured in the “Open Book” column in the NYTBR on March 19 and be excerpted in the April issue of The Atlantic. An excerpt is coming in Lithub, too.

“[A] treasure trove of the stories behind legendary books and their authors. The duo discuss forgeries of works by Galileo and Shakespeare as well as the difficulties of verifying the first printed book in Western history, the Gutenberg Bible, which was never signed by printer Johannes Gutenberg, making copies nearly impossible to identify. Some readers will be surprised to learn that even the concept of authorship is a relatively new one; through the Middle Ages, writers were viewed as mere channels for the Almighty to communicate with, and thus went unpaid…. [A] terrific collection.”
— Publishers Weekly

Printer’s Error: Irreverent Stories from Book History (9780062412317) by Rebecca and J.P. Romney. $26.99 hardcover. 3/14/17 on sale.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s