When “Life Happens”: BINC & Giving Tuesday

#GivingTuesdayI took an unexpected break from this blog in October and November because of a medical emergency. I’m happy to say that I’m fine–but I might not have been without help. From the sales rep pal who got me though a scary day in a strange town to the good fortune of medical insurance and an employer with a generous approach to caring for its workers, I saw firsthand the difference that the support of others can make.

I was surprised by how much the cards and emails I received from my colleagues in the book community meant to me–how much a little support can mean and the power of knowing people want help.

I mention my personal situation for a reason. Today is Giving Tuesday, an initiative started in 2012 as a response to Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Giving Tuesday asks us to remember the spirit of the holiday season. As the organizers note: “We have a day for giving thanks. We have two for getting deals. Now, we have #GivingTuesday, a global day dedicated to giving back.”

 

If you plan to make a contribution for Giving Tuesday or are organizing your year-end charitable donations, I’d like to ask you to consider The Book Industry Charitable Foundation. BINC helps booksellers when “life happens” giving people quick, effective financial support that can help keep lives on track.

This year BINC’s Board of Directors will match donations given before December 15. Your gift goes to help with emergencies like medical bills, funeral expenses, death and disability in a bookseller’s family, aid in emergency transitions like divorce and domestic violence, emergency child and elder care, and much more.

If you’re part of the book community or if you have a local bookstore you love, please consider a donation to BINC. No matter how prepared we think we are for the unexpected, none of us makes it through a crisis alone. I’m grateful to be part of the book community and happy for the opportunity to give back through BINC. Please consider it with your other charitable contributions.

Happy Giving Tuesday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “When “Life Happens”: BINC & Giving Tuesday

Leave a Reply

