Dayton Peace Prize Honors Louise Erdrich

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work “uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding.” Its Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose entire body of work reflects the Prize’s mission. Previous honorees include Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks and Barbara Kingsolver.

Erdrich’s first book, the beloved Love Medicine, won the National Book Critics Circle Award. 2012’s The Round House won the National Book Award and A Plague of Doves was a finalist for the Pulitzer. In all, she has written fourteen novels, as well as volumes of poetry, short stories, children’s books, and a memoir. And she is a bookseller…the owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis, MN.

In a statement, Erdrich said she does not consider herself a “peaceful” writer, but “a troubled one, longing for peace.” She notes that the prize “sends a strong political signal, more crucial than ever at this historical moment when we are seeing, day by day, the horrific violence children suffer in war.”

The award ceremony will be 11/9/14. You can find more information here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s