2014 ALA Prize Books

The American Library Association has announced its 2014 prize winners. This kids book world equivalent of the Oscars gave the Newbery Medal to Kate DiCamillo for Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures and the Caldecott Medal to Brian Floca for Locomotive.

Honor books and other Medal winners can be found here. Harper’s winners are listed below.

Newbery Honor * Kevin Henkes for The Year of Billy Miller (9780062268129)

Coretta Scott King Author Medal * Rita Williams Garcia for P.S. Be Eleven (9780061938627)

Coretta Scott King Author Honor * Walter Dean Myers for Darius & Twig (9780061728235)

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor * Kadir Nelson for Nelson Mandela (9780061783746)

Schneider Family Book Award for Middle Grade * Merrie Haskell for Handbook for Dragons (HC 9780062008169)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor * Kevin Henkes for Penny and Her Marble (9780062082039)

Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor * Rafael Lopez for Tito Puente (9780061227837)

Alex Awards (crossover adult fiction for young adult readers):

  • John Searles for Help for the Haunted (9780060779634)
  • Lisa O’Donnell for The Death of Bees (9780062209856) 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s